Notice of Poll for Liberton and Gilmerton by-election, 9th September 2010

posted 24 Aug 2010, 04:18 by South Edinburgh Net Admin
Mev Brown, Independent    

Bill Cook, Scottish Labour Party Candidate 

Colin Fox, Scottish Socialist Party  

Philip Hunt, Pirate Party Scotland  

John Christopher Knox, Scottish Liberal Democrats  

Richard Lewis, Scottish National Party (SNP) 

Peter McColl, Scottish Green Party  

Stephanie Murray, Scottish Conservative and Unionist 

Voters in the Liberton and Gilmerton ward in Edinburgh have until 25 August to register to vote or apply for a postal vote for the by-election. The vacancy has been created by the resignation of Cllr Ian Murray who was elected to the UK Parliament in May.

To register to vote or apply for a postal vote people should contact The Electoral Registration Office on 0131 344 2500 or by visiting

The polling stations, which will be open from 7am to 10pm, will be:

  • St John Vianney RC Primary School, Ivanhoe Crescent
  • St Gregory's Church Hall, Bellenden Gardens
  • Liberton Kirk Halls, 30 Kirkgate
  • TA Centre, 126A Alnwickhill Road
  • Gracemount Leisure Centre, 22 Gracemount Drive
  • Liberton Northfield Church Hall, 280(A) Gilmerton Road
  • Goodtrees Neighbourhood Centre, Moredunvale Place.
  • Valley Park Community Centre, 37 Southhouse Road
  • Gilmerton Community Centre, 4 Drum Street

The election will use the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system where voters rank candidates in order of preference rather than using a cross. Voters can give as many or as few preferences as they like.

The results of the by-election will be announced after the votes are counted on 10th September.